Unique Visitors:
4-Apr, Sat 07:04 am
Hover for weather info
  Web Hosting India

Goa Information

District And Talukas

Click on images to enlarge

District and Talukas

District and Talukas


Goa is divided into two districts - North Goa and South Goa. Panjim, besides being the capital of Goa, is the headquarters of the north Goa district and Margao of the south district. Each district is governed by a district collector, who is an administrator appointed by the Indian Government.


These two Goan districts are further divided into eleven talukas – The talukas of North Goa are Bardez, Bicholim, Pernem, Ponda, Sattari and Tiswadi, while the talukas of South Goa are Canacona, Mormugao, Quepem, Salcete and Sanguem. The headquarters of the respective talukas are Mapusa, Bicholim, Pernem, Ponda, Valpoi, Panjim, Chaudi, Vasco, Quepem, Margao and Sanguem.


Goa's major cities are Mapusa, Panjim, Vasco, Ponda and Margao. .